Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer

Rory McIlroy's tee shot landed in a spectator's pocket

Play it as it lies?



On Friday at the TOUR Championship, Rory McIlroy's tee shot on the par-4 14th clipped a tree on the right side of the fairway and somehow ended up in the pocket of a spectator who had been ducking for cover.


After a brief chuckle and an amused handshake, Rory marked the spot where the fan was standing, the fan took the ball out of his pocket and Rory got a free drop, thanks to the little-known rule 142.1.b.2, addendum 6: 'Any balls thou shalt fall unto the trousers of a spectator wearing Croakies and an Auburn shirt shall hath a free drop unto thee.' (I don't know why my imaginary golf rule book reads like the Ten Commandments, but here we are.)


Rory hit his second shot onto the green and two-putted for par. He finished with a 65 on the day, which tied him for the clubhouse lead. If he wins this week, the world No. 1 will take home the $10 million FedEx Cup prize. And the next time you go out golfing, you can take pride in the fact that, unlike the best golfer in the world, you have never hit a ball that landed in someone's pocket.


It's the small victories that sustain us.


Be friends with For The Win.

Like us on Facebook! Follow on Twitter!


Post a Comment for "Rory McIlroy's tee shot landed in a spectator's pocket"